Saint Martin

Along with the Netherlands, Aruba and Curaçao, the northern half of the Caribbean island of Saint Martin is one of the four countries that make up the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Consequently, Dutch is also an official language there, although most of the population speaks English. Within the scope of a cooperation agreement, the Dutch Language Union also plays an active role, especially in the sphere of education.