Spain, officially the Kingdom of Spain, covers some 80% of the Iberian Peninsula in south-western Europe. It also includes the Balearic Islands in the Mediterranean Sea, the Canary Islands in the Atlantic Ocean and the Spanish exclaves in North Africa. In 1982, Spain became a member of NATO and it has also been a member of the EU since 1986. On 1 January 2002, the euro became the Spanish currency, replacing the peseta. 
It is a diverse country with very different cultures, languages, eating habits and climates. This is why Spain is known for its rainy fishing villages in Galicia, the nightlife of Madrid, the tourist coastal spots on the Mediterranean Sea, the flamenco dances of Andalusia, bullfighting in many parts of the country, and the modern city of Barcelona in Catalonia.